Select Page

United Methodist Men

The primary purpose of United Methodist Men is to declare the centrality of Christ in the lives of men and in all their relationships. Accordingly, Virginia Conference United Methodist Men works with the District organizations, in developing programs to meet the needs and interests of men of all ages.

For more information about United Methodist Men in the Virginia Conference, please contact Albert S. Weal Jr., president, at 757-677-6096 or Mastercook3@cox.net

Upcoming Webinars

The United Methodist Men are inviting you to a series of scheduled Zoom meetings. For the next 3 months we will have a series of Webinars every 2 weeks on Wednesdays at 6:30 p.m., to: a. find out how you are doing, b. provide you with an opportunity to learn about some important ministries we are actively engaged in, and c. provide you some suggestions for leading your men during this time of physical separation. These webinars will last 1 hour each and will be recorded if you are unable to make one. Along with the chat questions and answers, the recorded webinars will be posted on this page.
The Webinars are as follows:

Other topics as needed. We will promote this on LaityNet and ClergyNet as well as in the Beacon and on this Webpage.
District Presidents and officers please put out the word to enhance participation!

Join Zoom Meeting (Link is good for all meetings)
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89824607164
Meeting ID: 898 2460 7164
One tap mobile
+13017158592,89824607164# US
8558801246,,89824607164# US Toll-free
Dial by your location
+1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)

Contact information for Webinars:
Prison Ministries Andrew Kissell andrew.kissell@aecom.com
Good News Jail: Johnnie Draughon johnnie.draughon@cox.net
Kairos Prison: John Cole cumcportpastor@verizon.net
All God’s Children Camp: Lori Smith lttlelori@gmail.com
Prison Chaplains: Randy Myers randymyers@graceinside.org
Disciple Bible Outreach: Gene Mims gene.mims@comcast.net
Beacon Newsletter: Jon Simons jon.simons@att.net
Conference Webmaster: Brenda Capen brendacapen@vaumc.org
Campus Ministry: Bret Gresham wesfound@vt.edu and Drew Ensz drewensz@vaumc.org

Links

Officers (pdf)
Vision, Values and Goals (pdf)
Related Agencies    
Beacon Newsletters and Notices  
Men in the Spirit flyer: See how UMM are changing lives around the conference (pdf)
Online Wearable Store   
Bylaws (pdf)

How are UMM Relevant?

How are the UMM helping to meet needs? (pdf)
Why do Men need a Ministry? (pdf)

Upcoming Events

July 25, 2020 – Dismantling Racism through God’s Amazing Grace – SEJ UMMen National Day of Prayer (Zoom)
Click here for details

Resources

Wesley Challenge Mentor Leader Guide
Using the Wesley Challenge and small groups our experienced disciples can become mentors. This link provides the training materials necessary for preparing mentors and helping new Christians become disciples. If you have any questions contact David Bean @ davkarbean@comcast.net
Mentor Guide (pdf)

Spiritual Advance 2019
PowerPoint Presentation 

Officers

Officers Duties

Major Responsibilities for… (All files are Word)
President   
Vice President for Spiritual Life     
Vice President for Membership and Development      
Conference Secretary    
Treasurer  
Conference Chaplain  
YoungER Men’s MInistry (YMM)

“I look on all the world as my parish; thus far I mean, that, in whatever part of it I am, I judge it meet, right, and my bounden duty, to declare unto all that are willing to hear, the glad tidings of salvation” — John Wesley

Please fill out the information below to subscribe to The Beacon newsletter.