Select Page

Harry Denman Evangelism Award

The Harry Denman Evangelism Awards honor a United Methodist clergy, youth, and layperson in each annual conference who has exhibited outstanding efforts in Wesleyan evangelism by faithfully carrying out the mission of “making disciples of Jesus Christ.”

The award is named for the late Dr. Harry Denman, a distinguished lay evangelist whom Dr. Billy Graham called “my mentor in evangelism.” The awards are made possible by The Foundation for Evangelism (, founded in 1949 by Dr. Denman, who felt it was the business of every Christian to be an evangelist. It is most fitting that annual conferences today honor persons who carry on the spirit of Harry Denman.

Those eligible for this prestigious award practice the Great Commission. This can involve personal witnessing, speaking, and inspiring individual persons or the local church to be actively involved in helping people experience God’s transforming love through Jesus Christ. Neither the size of the local church with which the person is affiliated, the age or gender of the person, nor the length of their service should limit one’s eligibility. What is essential are the persons whose lives have been changed by the life and ministry of the nominee.

The Virginia conferences honor an individual each year and present the awards at the Virginia Annual Conference gathering.
The selection process is directed by the Board of Discipleship of the Virginia conference, and all nominations are collected through the nomination process set by the board.

For more information, contact  Rev. Matt Sergent.


Nomination for the 2024 Annual Conference


Nominate a Clergy, Laity, or Youth who has exhibited outstanding efforts in Wesleyan evangelism to the Virginia Conference Board of Discipleship.

The nomination deadline has passed.

Printable nomination forms should be emailed to Becky Tate

For more information, contact Rev. Matt Sergent

Virginia Conference Harry Denman Award Recipient List

Award Recipients from 2020 – Present, provided by the Foundation of Evangelism

2023 – Robert Bruce Johnson – (Clergy)

2023 – Gerry Fuss (Laity)

2022 – Elizabeth Davis – (Clergy)

2022 – Earl and Geneice Kemper (Laity)

2021 – Jerry James Banek-Gabelle (Laity)

2021 – Ann Marie Blackmon (Laity)

2021 – Amanda Moore (Laity)

2020 – Brenda Laws (Clergy)

2020 – Arleen Field (Laity)

2020 – Jackson Smith (Laity)

Award Recipients from 2010-2019, provided by the Foundation of Evangelism

Award Recipients from 2000-2009, provided by the Foundation of Evangelism

Award Recipients from 1980 – 1999  provided by the Foundation of Evangelism

Translate »