Select Page

2019 Annual Conference

June 20-22, 2019
Berglund Center
Roanoke, VA
(710 Williamson Rd NE, Roanoke, VA 24016)

Moving Forward in God’s Mission
Matthew 28:18-20 New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)18
And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,  and teaching them to obey everything that I have commanded you. And remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

The 2019 session of the Virginia Annual Conference will be held June 20-22 at the Berglund Center, 710 Williamson Rd NE, Roanoke, VA 24016
Information will be shared on this page as it becomes available.
The housing letter will be available in early February 2019. 

2019 Daily Proceedings
Click here to open (pdf)

Book of Reports 
Please click here to download/view the 2019 Book of Reports.

Videos from Conference
2019 Ordering of Ministry:
Service of Remembrance:
Retirement Service:
Opening Session:
Saturday morning:

News from Annual Conference 2019
Summary report of the 2019 session, by Madeline Pillow, director of Communications (pdf)
Summary video of the 2019 session, by Nicholas Ruxton, videographer

Thursday June 20 – Laity session, Bishop Peter Weaver, Rules Committee, Elections
Friday morning, June 21 – Bible Study, Cabinet, New Faith Communities, Laity Address, Motions, 2019 General Conference Report
Friday afternoon, June 21 – Retirement Service, Historical Society, Site Selection, Equitable Compensation, Pensions, Common Table, Memorial Service
Friday evening, June 21 – A Service for the Ordering of Ministry
Saturday morning, June 22 -Treasurer, CFA, UMW, Final Worship with Bishop Weaver

Motions for Consideration by the 2019 Virginia Annual Conference
Click here to view motions (pdf)

Election Results

General Conference Elected Clergy:         General Conference Elected Laity:               
Tom BerlinWarren Harper
Lindsey BaynhamMartha Stokes
Meredith McNabbShirley Cauffman
Rob VaughnDarlene Amon
Rhonda VanDykeBeth Christian
Mark OgrenAlison Malloy
Grace Sun-khil HanMarshall Bailey
F. Elizabeth GivensJill Gaynor
Jason C. StanleyJoshua Blakely
G. Kirk NaveJacob Paysour
Jonathan PageMark Elder
Jurisdictional Conference Elected Clergy      
Jurisdictional Confence Elected Laity
Jeff MickleKaren McElfish
Doug ForresterAndrew Kissell
Leigh Anne TaylorKim Johnson
Dan KimDebbie Cali
Tim WardPhillip Mohr
Chenda LeeDeborah Angerman
David VaughanShawn Kiger
Lyndsie BlakelyAmanda L. Holmes
Lauren LobenhoferKenn Speicher
Brian JohnsonNeal E. Wise
Jennifer CoffeyRichard Underwood
Clergy AlternatesLaity Alternates
Drew VanDyke Colby Kip Robinson
Esther Nanna AgbosuBrenda Brooks
Gordon Keith PruittCarl Moravitz
Joshua S. KingMarie Hawks
Rachel M. GilmoreJane WIlson
Andrew B. WillsonJerry A. Taylor
M. Lynne Alley-GrantJaydee Hanson
Amy L. CrispMaureen McKay
Sarah Dumas LockeMichelle Hettman
Matthew Joseph BentonCarlos Liceaga

General and Jurisdictional Delegate Election Information
The Virginia Conference will elect 22 delegates to the 2020 General Conference (11 clergy and 11 laity) and an additional 11 clergy and 11 laity to join the General Conference delegates for the 2020 Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference.  Elections will be conducted during the 2019 session of the Virginia Annual Conference to be held June 20-22, 2019, at The Berglund Center in Roanoke.  The election of delegates will be conducted on the afternoon and evening of June 20. The following files are pdfs.
Click here to download/read the Conference Rules for the election of General and jurisdictional conference delegates.
Click here to download/review a booklet of laity nominees. (updated 5/21/19)
Click here to download/review a booklet of clergy nominees. (updated 6/14/19)
Persons wishing to have a printed copy of the booklets may send an email request to  The cost of each printed booklet is $15 to cover the cost of printing and postage.

Election of General Conference and SEJ Conference Delegates
Bishop Weaver will preside over the election of clergy delegates.
Bishop Ray Chamberlain will preside over the election of laity delegates. 
General Conference and SEJ Conference Delegates will be elected on June 20 following organizing motions and rules report in the Berglund Center. Voting for lay delegates will be held in the Berglund Center. Voting for clergy delegates will be held in the performing arts theatre. In accordance with Standing Rule III.F.1, 5 hours will be allowed to complete the election process.  
Eleven lay and 11 clergy General Conference delegates will be elected. An additional 11 lay and 11 clergy SEJ Conference delegates will be elected. Following these elections, 10 lay and 10 clergy reserve delegates will be elected on a single ballot. 

Click here to view a video on the electronic voting procedure for delegates.

The electronic voting system used during conference elections uses radio signals to transmit the votes from each voting device. Smart phones and other WiFi enabled devices can interfere with this system.  Conference attendees are asked to turn off any personal hot spots and WiFi connections during voting sessions. Attendees can still use text messaging and email communications through your cellular provider but please disable WiFi connectivity during the sessions when voting takes place. This will help achieve a faster and more reliable voting process.

Translate »