Bishop Lewis announces appointment of three new district superintendents

Bishop Sharma D. Lewis is pleased to announce three new district superintendent (DS) appointments effective July 1, 2019.

The Rev. Dr. Sarah L.K. Calvert, currently serving as the Bi-District (Alexandria and Arlington districts) Coordinator of Church Revitalization and Leadership Development, will be the new district superintendent of the Arlington District. She will replace the Rev. Cathy Abbott who has served as the Arlington DS since 2013.

The Rev. Charles F. Bates, currently serving as lead pastor at Fishersville UMC on the Staunton District, will be the new district superintendent of the Rappahannock River District. He will replace the Rev. Dr. Ted Smith who has served as the Rappahannock River DS since 2011.

The Rev. Denise P. Bates, currently serving as the lead pastor at Cave Spring UMC on the Roanoke District, will be appointed to serve as the new district superintendent for both the Danville and Farmville districts. On the Danville District she will replace the Rev. Dr. Janine Howard and on the Farmville District she will replace the Rev. Bob Parks. Both have served their districts since 2011.

In this new model, Bishop Lewis will also appoint an assistant to the DS for each district. Those part-time positions will be announced at a later date.

Please join Bishop Lewis in giving thanks for these servants and pray for all involved in these transitions.




The Cross and Flame is a registered trademark, and the use is supervised by the General Council on Finance and Administration (GCFA) of The United Methodist Church. Permission to use the Cross and Flame must be obtained from the GCFA, Attn: Legal Department, PO Box 340029, Nashville, TN 37203-0029; phone 615-369-2334; fax 615-369-2330

Background photos courtesy of VDOT.

The Virginia Conference of The United Methodist Church
10330 Staples Mill Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060
P.O. Box 5606, Glen Allen, VA 23058-5606
(804) 521-1100
Click here for directions to the Center